Lewisville ISD offers Driver Education at the five main high schools. All students must meet attendance requirements specified by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation that differ from private driver training schools.
The classroom phase meets for the state required 32 clock hours. Each student is required to have seven (7) hours of behind-the-wheel driving and seven (7) hours of observation. The Texas Legislature requires new drivers to receive an additional 30 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction certified by parent or legal guardian. These hours must include 10 hours of nighttime driving.
All parent/guardians are encouraged to drive with their student after they have obtained their learners permit. Students who have little or no driving experience prior to driving with our instructors are at a disadvange and may not master all area's of driving without additional practice.
REQUIREMENTS FOR ENROLLMENT
IMPORTANT: Please review the Requirements for Enrollment prior to applying. Students will not be able enroll without the required documents.
Registration available online (First day to register) July 30
Registration & Tuition Deadline August 22
Classroom instruction starts August 29*
Classroom instruction ends September 20
Makeup Day (if needed) September 21 ($30.00)
Driving begins September 22
Driving ends November 30
Classroom instruction is Monday through Friday. Schools will announce the meeting room several days prior to the first class.
* Dates are subject to change.
The tuition fee for each student is $350.00 (MasterCard, Visa, and Discover). Online application and payment must be received for the registration process to be complete. No payments will be collected at the high school.