• How is eligibility for Special Education established?

    To be eligible for special education a student must qualify under the two-prong test of eligibility:

    • a disability and
    • a need for specially designed instruction.

    To meet the first part of the two-prong test for eligibility, a child between the ages of three through 21 must meet the criteria for one or more of the disability categories listed below:

    • Auditory Impairment
    • Autism
    • Deaf/Blindness
    • Emotional Disturbance
    • Intellectual Disability
    • Mulitple Disabilities
    • Orthopedic Impairment
    • Other Health Impairment
    • Specific Learning Disability
    • Speech/Language
    • Traumatic Brain Injury
    • Visual Impairment
    • Non-categorical Early Childhood