Attendance & Absences
Attendance at School
Regular school attendance is essential for a student to make the most of his or her education—to benefit from teacher-led and school activities, to build each day’s learning on the previous day’s, and to grow as an individual. Absences from class may result in serious disruption of a student’s mastery of the instructional materials; therefore, the student and parent should make every effort to avoid unnecessary absences.
A student can be considered absent if he or she misses all or part of the school day, including late arrival and early pick-up. Under Texas law, a student in all learning environments (In-Person, At-Home remote learning, Virtual, and Virtual Plus) must be present in each class for at least 90% of the days a class is offered. Students who don’t meet this requirement, regardless of the reason for the absence or whether excused/unexcused, will lose credit in the class. Completion of a plan determined by the principal or campus attendance committee will be required to restore credit.
Under Texas law, a student who experiences more than 3 unexcused absences (full or partial day) in a four week period or 10 unexcused absences (full or partial day) in a 6 month period, may be referred to the court for truancy. This includes unexcused late arrivals and early pick-up. Charges may also be filed against the parent in these circumstances.
Virtual Learning Attendance:
At Home Learning and Virtual/Virtual Plus learning require daily engagement per class expectations for the student to be considered present.
What steps do I take if my child is absent?
Approval for planned absences should be requested from the campus at least one week in advance to ensure they are excused. Pre-planned absences on STAAR, EOC, or other state testing days will not be excused.
If your child will be absent for illness or another, unplanned reason, contact your campus attendance clerk by phone or email that day to notify the school of the absence.
Parents should provide a note, documenting the reason for the absence, to the school immediately upon the child’s return, and not later than three days after the absence. If the child was seen by a health care provider, a note from that individual is always preferred. If the student was present PART of the school day and missed the remainder for a health care appointment, a note from that provider should be given to the school within 3 days. In this circumstance, the time away from school is NOT considered an absence.
If a student is absent for more than four consecutive days for illness, a note from a health care provider is required to excuse the absence.
The district will accept parent notes to excuse an illness, personal, or pre-approved absence for no more than 10 full or partial day absences during the school year. Any additional absences will require a note from a health care provider or documentation of an absence exempt from compulsory attendance, in order to be excused.
It is important to take all required steps to ensure an absence will be excused. Unless the absence is for a statutorily allowed reason under compulsory attendance laws, the district is not required to excuse any absence, even if the parent provides a note explaining the absence. Unexcused absences are considered truancy and the grade for makeup work after an unexcused absence shall be zero. [See Board Policy EIA Local]
COVID UPDATE 20/21: Student Attendance During a Global Pandemic
Virtual students have the luxury of being able to choose when they participate in most of their classes. Some virtual classes have a scheduled Webex meeting, but if a student is unable to join, they still have until midnight to participate in that class by turning in an assignment or working in one of LISD's Learning Management Systems (LMS), such as Canvas, Edgenuity, etc. Teachers get a report showing exactly how many minutes/seconds a student spends in each LMS, so participation in a class can be easily determined for attendance purposes.
If a student is sick, the most important thing is for them to rest and get better. However, if they feel up to working a little bit, even if it's only participating in one class, that work will allow the student to be counted present for the day.
Virtual Plus Students
Virtual Plus students are required to attend their in-person class/es each day. Absences in In-Person Classes count toward Truancy as well as counting toward a student's absence count. If a student misses their In-Person class three times without an excuse given to the attendance office, the counselor will remove the In-Person class from the student's schedule and place the student in all virtual classes. We understand that sometimes things happen that cause a class to be missed but those absences should be treated like any other absence - by calling the attendance office on the day of the absence with the reason for missing class. A note, email, call or VM must be received by the attendance office within 3 days of an absence in order to potentially excuse the absence.
If your student will miss school due to illness, please call the new LISD Call Center at 469-444-3558 if your student has ANY of the following symptoms:
Fever / Chills / Coughing / Tiredness / Fatigue / Difficulty Breathing / Shortness of Breath / Body or muscle aches / Headache / Sore throat / New loss of taste or smell / Congestion or runny nose / Nausea or vomiting / Diarrhea
By calling the call center, KMS will be made aware of your call and the absence will be excused. Thank you for keeping KMS' students and staff safe and healthy!
If your student is staying home due to a known pre-existing condition on file with the nurse, such as seasonal allergies, please let the attendance office know on the day of absence by calling, emailing or leaving a voicemail. A parent is allowed to excuse up to 10 absences for the 2020/2021 school year.
Due to COVID, an absence due to illness must be called in the day of the absence in order to try our best to protect our students and staff.
If a student returns to school after being absent and the school received no contact or reason for the absence by a parent, the student will remain in the nurse's office until we receive contact from the parent regarding the reason for the absence.
Parent, if your student misses a class due to a medical, therapy or court appointment, please have the medical or legal note sent to the office as soon as possible. After the 3rd day, the absence may remain unexcused. If your student will miss the entire day, please remember to call in that same day, letting us know the reason for your student's absence.
If your student needs to miss school for vacation or family event, please complete a Pre-Planned Absence form and turn it into the attendance office 5 days prior to the requested absence. A parent may take up to 5 school days off for vacation and/or other pre-planned days, utiliizing up to 5 of the 10 total parent notes allowed per year.
If your student was counted absent by mistake, please have them communicate with the teacher who counted them absent to determine the correct attendance. The teacher will have the attendance changed if necessary. The attendance will be updated by that teacher to reflect their participation within 48-72 hours.2020/2021 Office hours 8:10am – 4:50pm
Front Office #: 469-713-5977 Option 0
SPANISH Speakers - 469-713-5977 Option 0 to speak to Diana Aristizabal
Kasee Kappel @ KAPPELK@LISD.NET
- Report student absences by VM @ 469-713-5977 option 1 or Email
- Residency Questions
- Skyward Profile/Data Questions
- Request Skyward Login ID and/or Password
Deidre Stempel @ STEMPELDM@LISD.NET
- Attendance questions
- Bus Rider Information
- Record Requests
- Pre-planned absence questions
- Report student absences by VM @ 469-713-5977 or Email
Fax #: 214-626-1714 or 972-350-9200