Return to Headlines

Texas Association of Future Educators - Results

March 4, 2019

FMHS Chapter of Texas Association of Future Educators attended the 35th Annual Teach Tomorrow Summit in Allen.  The students brought home some impressive awards!  

  • Savannah Peterson and Lauren Bordelon – individual blue ribbons in Secondary Interactive Bulletin Board
  • Seyoung Choi and Chaeryn Yoon – team blue ribbon in Elementary Interactive Bulletin Board
  • Tessa Welch – silver certificate in Professional Portfolio
  • Seyoung Choi and Seohyun Choi – blue ribbon in Teacher Created Materials event
  • Yenna Park, Savannah Peterson, Jenna Street, and Tessa Welch – team blue ribbon in Chapter Yearbook
  • Jenna Street and Tessa Welch – finalists in Ethical Dilemma
  • Lauren Bordelon – finalist in Impromptu Speaking
  • Yenna Park – Winner and National Qualifier in Exploring Education Support Service Careers for her project, job shadowing, and presentation about ESL liaisons

Also, Yenna Park was awarded the Texas Student of the Year!  This award goes to an outstanding graduating senior who has been a TAFE member for at least two consecutive years, have a GPA of 3.0 or higher freshman, sophomore, and junior year and a higher GPA senior year, have been accepted to an accredited university for the 2019-20 school year, and is to have made outstanding contributions to the local TAFE chapter.  Yenna received a $1,000 scholarship to use at Baylor, where she will be attending in the fall.