Return to Headlines

LISD Announces 2019 TMEA All-State Musicians

Fifty-three high school students earned their place in the prestigious Texas Music Educator Association All-State Bands, Choirs or Orchestras. 

TMEA Logo 2019 Jan. 18, 2019 — Lewisville ISD (LISD) is proud to announce 53 high school students from across the district earned their place in the prestigious Texas Music Educator Association (TMEA) All-State Organizations. 

"Students earning the performance opportunity as an All-State musician have achieved the highest individual honor available to students engaged in Texas music programs," LISD Fine Arts Director Amanda Drinkwater said. "These students dedicated focused practice efforts on challenging selections and advanced through several audition levels prior to selection. LISD will be very well represented this year with 53 All-State participants from our band, choir and orchestra programs."

Beginning each fall, more than 70,000 high school students across the state audition to advance through several stages to perform selected music for a panel of judges who rank each instrument or voice part. The highest-ranking musicians qualify to perform in one of the 15 Texas All-State Bands, Orchestras, and Choirs. 

"It is such an honor to be a part of the All-State Band," Hebron High School junior saxophonist Ekdev Rajkitkul said. "Although making All-State was my end goal, I feel that the process has not only made me a better player but has taught me the value of hard work and dedication. I can’t wait for the experiences ahead!"

Flower Mound High School junior vocalist Zachary Rohwer added, "Making All-State means everything to me. It’s been the crowning achievement of my high school career. I am excited about seeing friends who I’ve met throughout the process from other schools and districts!"

Students are set to rehearse for three days, directed by nationally-recognized conductors, and perform amongst their musical peers from across Texas on the closing day of the annual TMEA Convention in San Antonio in February. 

"To perform as an All-State musician is a great honor," Marcus High School senior violist Ryan Lin said. "I look forward to a new experience in playing music; being able to have the opportunity to perform new music that is outside of the scope of what I’m used to playing; and ultimately, share it with others during the performance."

Congratulations to the following students!


First name Last Name Campus Program
Jacob Andersen Flower Mound Choir
Jonathan Asplund Hebron Band
Alex Botehlo Flower Mound Band
Xinrae Cardozo Hebron Band
George Cardozo Hebron Band
Rhett Carlin Flower Mound Band
Eric Choe Flower Mound Band
Austin Curtis Flower Mound Choir
Max Davis Marcus Band
Savannah DeCrow Marcus Choir
Suchir Dhurjati Flower Mound Band
Joshua Epps Flower Mound Band
Coleton Evans Marcus Choir
Brianna Guerra Lewisville Band
Chance Hoang Hebron Band
Griffin Holt Flower Mound Band
Shiwon Hong Hebron Band
Peyton Joffre Hebron Band
Grace Kang Hebron Orchestra
Chanwoo Kim Hebron Band
Christy Lee Hebron Band
Sophia Lee Marcus Band
Ryan Lin Marcus Orchestra
Henry Liu Flower Mound Band
Shawn Merchant Hebron Choir
Erin Min Hebron Band
Kassidy Montan Flower Mound Choir
Johniel Najera Flower Mound Band
Ashwin Narayanan Flower Mound Orchestra
Elizabeth Olson Flower Mound Band
Emily Park Hebron Band
Courtney Parnitke Flower Mound Choir
Jared Pomerantz Marcus Band
Ekdev Rajkitkul Hebron Band
Zachary Rohwer Flower Mound Choir
Benjamin Ruiz Marcus Band
Jacob Samson Flower Mound Choir
Craig Schroeder Hebron Band
Mukhil Seralaathan Flower Mound Band
Grace Shao Hebron Band
Ishaan Sharma Hebron Band
Miranda Smith Flower Mound Band
Ethan Staples Hebron Band
Michelle Sun Flower Mound Orchestra
Timothy Thomas Flower Mound Choir
Addie Thrower Hebron Choir
Manaas Varma Flower Mound Orchestra
William Vasquez Marcus Band
Brindley Wade Hebron Band
Matthew Warner Flower Mound Band
Alice Wei Hebron Orchestra
Jordan Whitehead Flower Mound Band
Cade Wilson Flower Mound Band

For inquiries about this page, please contact the LISD Communications Department at